What are the exemptions available in ACCA?

What are the exemptions available in ACCA?

ACCA, the globally recognized Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, offers the prestigious Chartered Certified Accountant qualification, which requires the completion of 13 papers split into three levels: Knowledge, Skill, and Professional. The Knowledge level exams are computer-based and available on-demand year-round, while the Skills and Professional Level exams are held quarterly in March, June, September, and December.

The ACCA qualification is highly respected by accounting and finance organizations worldwide, including BIG 4 accounting firms (PwC, EY, Deloitte & KPMG) and MNCs who hire ACCA Members and Associates for positions across Accounting, Finance, Taxation, Audit, Financial Planning & Analysis, Consulting etc.

ACCA  offers exemptions to students who have completed certain qualifications. Exemptions are granted based on the courses studied and the grades achieved. Here are some of the exemptions available:

  • Professional Accounting Qualifications in India:
    • Institute of Chartered Accountants in India (ICAI),
    • Institute of Cost Accountants of India (ICAI), and
    • Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI)
  • Graduation Degrees: Students who have completed a relevant degree like
    • Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com),
    • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA),
    • Masters of Commerce (M.Com) or
    • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Other Professional Qualifications: Students who have completed other professional qualifications like
    • Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
    • Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)


The above is not an exhaustive list.  

What is the exemption available for a qualified CA or CA Student?

CA Inter – Knowledge Level (3 papers) + Skill Level (Audit & Tax)

CA Final – Knowledge Level (3 Papers) + Skill Level (6 Papers)

What is the exemption available for a qualified CMA or CMA Student?

CMA Final with ICMAI Membership - Knowledge Level (3 papers) + Skill Level (Law, FM, FR & Tax)

CMA + 5 yrs workexperience - Knowledge Level (3 Papers) + Skill Level (6 Papers)

What is the exemption available for a B.Com?

B.Com – Knowledge Level (3 Papers) + Skill Level (Law, Tax*)

(*Exemptions may vary based on university)

The summary of exemptions is available in our brochure - Download Now!

It is important to note that exemptions are granted on a case-by-case basis, and ACCA will assess each applicant's qualifications individually.  You can check the ACCA exemption calculator here -


What is the cost of availing exemption?

Although a student may qualify for exemptions from certain ACCA exams at the Knowledge and Skill levels, they must pay for each exemption claimed. The ACCA charges a fee per paper for exemptions. As of 2023, the exemption fee for Applied Knowledge exams is 84 GBP per paper and for Applied Skill exams, it is 111 GBP per paper. These fees are subject to change.

Are there any fee waivers available?

If a student is enrolled with an ACCA approved learning partner (ALP), you may get fee waivers based on the qualifications. 1FIN by IndigoLearn is an approved silver learning partner. If you apply for exemptions through us, you would save substantially on exemption fees. You can reach out to our student counsellors at 9640-11111-0.


1FIN by IndigoLearn
What are the subjects exempted in ACCA Exemption for CA Inter students in ACCA